Sold for $500

Sometimes I hear people saying, “My son/daughter used to disturb me while I was watching TV. There was a good sale on TVs so I bought one for them. Alhamdu lillah, now I can watch my favourite TV shows and they don’t disturb me any more because they watch their own shows. There are no more arguments in the house. I am relaxed.”

Really! Are we really relaxed?

Just think! We gave them a TV but what have we taken away from them?

We have no more interaction with our children, no cooperation, patience, sharing and family values. These things they learn when we share our ideas while we’re watching their favourite shows and when they’re watching ours.

All of these values we sold for $500 – the cost of a TV.

By Shahnaz Zafar

Leave a Reply

